Top gong for Mentor in milestone season

Sunshine Coast Lightning Captain, Geva Mentor has capped off a stellar season with the foundation Club, winning the first-ever Player of the Year Award as well as the Players’ Player Award.

The Goal Keeper’s phenomenal performances during the inaugural Suncorp Super Netball competition were recognised at the Sunshine Coast Club’s Gala Awards night at The Events Centre, Caloundra on Friday evening.

Mentor was a standout in the defensive third all season, leading the entire league in deflections (90), as well as finishing the regular rounds second on the charts for rebounds (41) and equal second for intercepts (41).

The English international’s inspirational displays helped Lightning become the top defensive side in the Super Netball competition, conceding the fewest goals of any team during the regular season (726).

Lightning Coach, Noeline Taurua praised the skipper’s leadership qualities as well as her consistency in 2017.

“Right from the beginning, Geva wanted to earn the respect of her peers and that’s what she felt captaincy was about. She’s done that on and off the court,” Taurua said.

“She’s been able to work with people, build relationships and get the best out of each individual.

“Geva does a lot of prep work on herself and the opposition she’s coming up against. Her netball IQ is amazing.”

Taurua herself was recognised for her outstanding contribution to the development of the new franchise, taking home the Club Person of The Year award.

Other winners included Silver Ferns’ legend, Laura Langman who was voted the Members’ Player of the Year for her professionalism and commitment, while fellow midcourter, Laura Scherian took home the Team Spirit Award for her embodiment of the Club’s values on and off the court.

Player of the Year: Geva Mentor

Players’ Player of the Year: Geva Mentor

Club Person of the Year: Noeline Taurua

Members’ Player of the Year: Laura Langman

Team Spirit Award: Laura Scherian

Volunteer of the Year: Mike Doroshenko

Fan of the Year: Jason McIntyre