Langman Re-Commits to Lightning for 2020

Sunshine Coast Lightning today confirmed esteemed Captain Laura Langman has re-committed to the Club ahead of the 2020 season.

Retaining the services of all ten squad members is a strong vote of confidence in Lightning’s elite program and culture, with Kylee Byrne poised to take over the Head Coach role next season.

Langman put on a dominant display through the midcourt in 2019, helping lead the Club to a third consecutive Grand Final appearance.

After a one-year hiatus from the sport in 2018, Langman was welcomed back with open arms – her meticulous training standards ensuring she did not miss a beat on return.

Langman said she’s proud to continue her netball career at Lightning and is eager to see what else this group can achieve.

“It’s really special to play alongside this group of women and I feel honoured to be able to represent Lightning again next year,” Langman said

“2019 has left a fire in the belly and I’m excited for what next season has in store.”

Lightning’s 2020 Head Coach Kylee Byrne was thrilled to secure the services of the veteran next season, as well as keeping the core contingent of 10 players together.

“The form that Laura was in this year and especially post-World Cup was some of the best of her career,” Byrne said.

“She is so important to this Club, and to be able to go around again with her is special.

“There is certainly a feeling of unfinished business within this group so to retain them all is so exciting for 2020.

“We achieved so much this year and together we want to keep pushing and improving in all areas on and off the court.”

In addition to Lightning duties, the 33-year-old captained the Silver Ferns to a World Cup Gold Medal in July and will continue to represent the New Zealand side when they take on Australia in the Constellation Cup.

Sunshine Coast Lightning’s 10-player squad for the 2020 season is now confirmed as Laura Langman, Karla Pretorius, Steph Wood, Laura Scherian, Peace Proscovia, Phumza Maweni, Maddy McAuliffe, Cara Koenen, Jacqui Russell and Annika Lee-Jones.