Inaugural Capital Darters’ DUANL Team Announced

Sunshine Coast Lightning and Netball ACT has today confirmed the 2020 playing roster for the inaugural Capital Darters Deakin University Australian Netball League (DUANL) team.

The Capital Darters will compete in this season’s DUANL competition as part of a collaboration between Lightning and Netball ACT, which was announced in January.

Lightning Head Coach Kylee Byrne and Assistant Coach Chris Voge, in conjunction with two ACT selectors, conducted an extensive recruitment and talent identification process before finalising the Capital Darters’ squad of 12.

“It’s exciting to announce the inaugural 2020 Darters team, as the partnership between NACT and Sunshine Coast Lightning truly comes to life for the first time,” Voge said.

“The team boasts a mix of talent with previous DUANL experience, as well as young emerging athletes and I look forward to working with each of them to foster a strong team who can compete on a national scale.

“The athletes now come together in the Darters’ training environment, across Canberra and the Sunshine Coast; along with a number of full team training camps in preparation for the first round in May.”

Lightning Training Partners Ashlee Unie, Sienna Allen, Binnian Hunt and Annie Lawrie have all been named in the Darters’ side, alongside former Club Training Partners Sarahphienna Woulf and Chanel Dyer.

The partnership aims to give emerging athletes exposure to the top tier DUANL league and provide development opportunities through elite coaching and training programs.

Alongside the squad of 12, two Training Partners from each region will be finalised in the preparation period.

The 2020 Capital Darters Player List is as follows :

Amber Brophy Tuggeranong Netball Association
Annabelle Lawrie* USC Thunder
Ashlee Unie* USC Thunder
Binnian Hunt* USC Thunder
Chanel Dyer Brisbane North Cougars
Georgia Clayden Arawang Netball Association
Keely Rodrigo Tuggeranong Netball Association
Leigh Kalsbeek Arawang Netball Association
Millicent Boehm Arawang Netball Association
Nalani Makunde Canberra Netball Association
Sarahpheinna Woulf USC Thunder
Sienna Allen* USC Thunder

*Denotes Sunshine Coast Lightning Training Partner