Byrne’s 21/U Australia Squad Announced

Sunshine Coast Lightning’s in demand Head Coach Kylee Byrne has been busy at work with her secondary duties as Australian 21/U Coach this week.

The Australian squad of 22 was today announced in preparation for the Netball Youth World Cup which is scheduled to take place in December 2021 in Fiji.

Eligible athletes participated in decentralised High Performance camps across the country last week, allowing Byrne and the selection panel to gauge which players would qualify for representative duties.

Byrne said she was proud of how the athletes have remained positive and dedicated to their netball craft throughout 2020 and is excited by the talent within the selected squad.  

“I am incredibly grateful we are able to begin preparing for the Netball World Youth Cup again after the COVID-19 pandemic put it on hold this year,” Byrne said.

“Over the next 10 months, myself and the selection panel will be monitoring athlete performances in building towards the Netball World Youth Cup, at camps and various competitions set to take place in 2021.

“I see so much potential with this group of athletes and I can’t wait to spend the next year working closely with them in the hope of bringing back the Netball Youth World Cup to Australia.”

The selection panel is made up of Kylee Byrne, Michelle Wilkins (Netball Centre of Excellence Head Coach) and proxy Australian 21 and Under Selector Carol Cathcart, with the permanent appointment of the third selector to be confirmed in January 2021.

The Netball Youth World Cup was originally planned for June 2021 but was postponed due to COVID-19.

The full 21/U Australia Squad full list is below:

 Sunday Aryang – WA

 Lucy Austin – SA

Ruby Barkmeyer – VIC

Reilley Batcheldor – QLD

Chelsea Blackman – SA

Gabby Coffey – NT

Jemma Donoghue – NSW

Sophie Dwyer – NSW

Georgie Horjus – SA

Clare Iongi – NSW

Matisse Letherbarrow – NSW

Matilda McDonell – NSW

Annie Miller – NSW

Hannah Mundy – VIC

Tyler Orr – SA

Maddie Ridley – VIC

Amy Sligar – NSW

Allie Smith – VIC

Mia Stower – QLD

Emma Walters – VIC

Molly Watson – SA

Tayla Williams – SA

February Camp Invitees:

Nyah Allen – SA

Leesa Mi Mi – QLD