fbpx

Australia v South Africa Preview

2018 Netball Quad Series – Test One
South Africa SPAR Proteas v Samsung Diamonds
Copper Box Arena, London

MATCH FACTS

  • Australia hasn’t played against South Africa in England since the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester, winning 74-38.
  • Paige Hadley’s last test for the Diamonds was 5 February 2017 against England in the Netball Quad Series, played in Wembley.
  • Last time they played, 30 August 2017, South Africa led against the Diamonds from halfway through the second quarter until the beginning of the third.
  • The Diamonds won 9 of 10 tests in 2017, with one loss to New Zealand in the Netball Quad Series.

AUSTRALIAN TEST MATCH RECORDS

ALL-TIME INTERNATIONAL RESULTS
Played: 432; Win: 358; Loss: 65; Draw: 9

ALL-TIME INTERNATIONAL RESULTS v SOUTH AFRICA
Played: 35; Win: 35; Loss: 0; Draw: 0

ALL-TIME INTERNATIONAL RESULTS played in ENGLAND
Played: 64; Win: 59; Loss: 5; Draw: 0

ALL-TIME INTERNATIONAL RESULTS played in LONDON
Played: 16; Win: 14; Loss: 2; Draw: 0

ALL-TIME INTERNATIONAL RESULTS played in ENGLAND v SOUTH AFRICA
Played: 3; Win: 3; Loss: 0; Draw: 0

HEAD TO HEAD AUSTRALIA v SOUTH AFRICA
AUSTRALIA v SOUTH AFRICA
89 goals, 25 Jun 99 Highest Score 50 goals, 22 Feb 95
35 goals, 17 Aug 67 Lowest Score 22 goals, 13 Jun 01
61 goals, 25 Jun 99 Biggest Win N/A

PREVIOUS FIVE MEETINGS:
30 Aug 17, Netball Quad Series, AUS (58) def RSA (52)
31 Jan 17, Netball Quad Series, AUS (62) def RSA (46)
27 Aug 16, Netball Quad Series, AUS (68) def RSA (43)
12 Aug 15, Netball World Cup, AUS (66) def RSA (31)
30 Jul 14, Commonwealth Games, AUS (64) def RSA (40)

INJURY UPDATE:
Nil

WORDS FROM THE COACH:

On what to expect from South Africa…
The Proteas are enormously respected by the Diamonds. We expect them to continue to grow, as they did between our two encounters last year. South Africa really challenged us the last time we played in Canberra. Although we won by six goals in the end, they led halfway through the game and pushed us right to the final whistle.

Our athletes came up against and trained alongside Karla Pretorious and Erin Burger in Suncorp Super Netball. We know how tough they are and how much they fight to the very end. We have to ensure that we bring our absolute best on Saturday.

On what to expect from the Diamonds during the Quad Series…
The Diamonds have a different goaling line up from the last Quad Series, with Susan Pettitt, Stephanie Wood and Gretel Tippett all available to take the court. Our most recent debutante Kate Moloney didn’t play in the last Quad Series either, and her addition alongside Paige Hadley provides us with extra drive to the circle. Paige is an experienced Netball World Cup campaigner, and last played with us in January. She’ll be ready to expect to play in both wing attack and centre.

On shifting focus to the Netball Quad Series…
There has been a lot of discussion around the Commonwealth Games lately, with our recent Simulation Camp. Now that we have touched down in London with our 14 touring athletes, our focus is laser sharp on our performance in this three-test Series. We are looking to emulate last year’s Constellation Cup, building on each and every game.

TV BROADCAST GUIDE:
Sydney – Nine Sunday 21 January 2.15am AEDT (live)
Melbourne – Nine Sunday 21 January 2.15am AEDT (live)
Hobart – Nine Sunday 21 January 2.15am AEDT (live)
Adelaide – Nine Sunday 21 January 1.45am ACDT (live)
Brisbane – Nine Sunday 21 January 1.15am AEST (live)
Darwin – Nine Sunday 21 January 12.45am ACST (live)
Perth – Nine Saturday 20 January 11.15pm AWST (live)

#SunCoastProud